The Trumpeter in the Woods = Chapter Nine, Part Two

I don’t recall where I first heard about Reiki, maybe from someone in the transpersonal psychology study group, or from an animal communicator. Whoever it was, it had to be someone from my new surroundings. It couldn’t have been anyone that I had previously been hanging out with, dancing and chasing men. If I had said the word Reiki to them, they would have laughed me out of the bar. Have another drink, Chris!

I guess wherever it was that I first heard about Reiki is irrelevant. More importantly, I had to explore it. I was told that if I did massage, animal communications and Reiki for animals that it would be a winning combo that no one else could offer to pet owners. I was on the cutting edge of something new. I found a woman who taught Reiki and I took a one-day introductory Reiki level one course. Okay, you ask, what is Reiki? By definition, Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing. It is administered by laying hands on or just above the subject’s body and is based on the idea that a life force energy flows through us. If our life force energy is low, then we are more likely to get sick. If it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy. The word Reiki is Japanese – “Rei” which means God’s wisdom or the Higher Power and “Ki” means life force energy. So Reiki is actually “God’s life force energy.”

I combined my use of massage on animals with my new knowledge of Reiki. When I massaged the homeless pets at the shelter, I also did Reiki on them. Did it help them? I have no idea. But maybe it made me feel better thinking that it did.

Not too soon after I received Reiki training, I met a woman (through the study group, of course) who did energy healing on people. Energy healing is similar to Reiki. There are several different types of energy healing; this woman studied with the Barbara Brennan School of Healing. The Brennan Healing Science is a theory of healing that combines hands-on techniques similar to massage with spiritual and psychological guidance. The Brennan practitioner interacts with the client’s energy field, the aura that emanates from our physical bodies. If there is an imbalance in our bodies, it shows up in our auras. The healer works with our energy fields to bring about healing and balance.

Every other week for about a year, I had appointments with the energy healer. She addressed my physical issues of neck and lower back pain but, more importantly, she worked with me to clear out old baggage from my life. According to her, our life experiences remain in the cells and energy system of our bodies. It’s called cellular memory. She could feel with her hands where I was blocked. Our sessions consisted of a half an hour talk, similar to psychotherapy, to uncover my life’s issues and then for the next hour, I laid on her massage table and she used a combination of massage techniques and energy healing to clear my energy field. Most of our sessions concentrated on helping me to reach the decision to quit my job and pursue my passion with animals. Fear was holding me back, that old feeling that I may lose my money and be homeless. All of that fear was residing in the cells of my body, and I was vibrating the energy of fear.

Content and title copyright Christine Palm Shaughness. No reproduction allowed.

