I have incredible news to share with you. In my last post, I told you that I finished writing my second book. The next day, I submitted it to the Hay House Non-Fiction Writing Contest. Soon after, I received an email telling me that my book, Trumpeter in the Woods, was one of 30 finalists in the contest! http://www.balboapress.com/publishingNFcontest/winners.aspx

This is such an honor and a dream come true. I have wanted to be published by Hay House, and the grand prize of this contest is a Hay House publishing contract. The winner will be announced on November 5. The anticipation is killing me!

I took a walk in the woods on Saturday and sat contemplating my goal to be a full time writer and speaker for the animals. As I watched the leaves fall from the trees, I realized that  my life right now is like one of those leaves still hanging onto the tree. Do I make the conscious decision to  fall from the tree when I choose, to chart my own course, falling gracefully to the ground? Or do I hold on for dear life in fear of what will happen if I let go? As Hurricane Sandy approaches, most remaining  leaves will be violently blown far away from the trees they once called home. I don’t want that to be me.

As I walked, a leaf floated in front of me and I grabbed it before it touched the ground. I took it home as a reminder that I want to choose my own path rather than let someone else blow me off course. How about you?

Stay tuned!

