Hello readers! It’s been a couple of months since I’ve posted, and I apologize for the absence. I’m happy to see that so many of you are visiting the site and learning about dog behavior. I will be back posting regularly.

It’s been a very busy time. If you are a regular reader, you know that my dog, Gizzy, passed away in July. Since then, I have decided not to adopt another dog right away. Instead, I want to “walk my talk” and be a foster mom for homeless dogs.  So in early September, I welcomed an 8-year-old Border Collie into my home! She was a sweetheart and I loved her immediately. I thought to myself, “You cannot be a foster flunkout!” Missy was perfectly behaved with one exception – she had bad separation anxiety. She followed me everywhere and if I left the house, she barked hysterically, urinated on the rug, ripped down the curtains and tore the molding from the front door. Oh dear…  For the eleven days that she lived with me, I was like a prisoner in my own home. I couldn’t go out for fear of the consequences.  Thankfully, Missy was adopted by an amazing couple who had two other dogs. She’s doing great in her new home. I now know first-hand what people go through when they have dogs with separation anxiety.

Just last week, I welcomed two Basset Hounds into my home! Brooks is 8 and Zoey, his daughter, is 6. They have quickly wormed their way into my heart with their sweet dispositions and silly demeanors. I’ve always wanted Bassets and decided that life was too short not to experience these funny looking dogs. Just looking at them makes me smile! There’s a very good possibility that I may be a foster flunkout with these two!

And the very best news of all, and the main reason for my posting absence, I just completed writing my second book. I’m very excited about it and preliminary feedback has been more than I could imagine. I can’t wait to tell you more about it – stay tuned!  Thank you for continuing to keep these blog alive and I look forward to hearing from you again!

