You’ve heard the expression, “be careful what you wish for, you might get it.” Ever since I started working with animals, I have wished for the opportunity to educate a large number of people about animals and their issues, specifically dogs and how to understand them. Well, my wish came true a couple of months ago when I received an invitation to be the sole speaker at a two-day conference on dog behavior at the Groom Expo in September in Hershey, PA. Although I have given my share of presentations in my career – many during my 25 years in telecommunications and quite a few in the decade since I’ve been a pet behavior consultant –  never have I been asked to speak for ten hours, as I will be doing at Groom Expo. Yikes! Ten hours! Six hours one day; four hours the following day. Here’s a link to the Groom Expo program: Learning to Speak Dog  

That’s a lot of material to prepare. I have a slew of information in my brain and in other presentations I’ve given. But every venue is different.  The audience at Groom Expo will consist of groomers, doggie daycare staff, boarding kennel operators, staff from animal shelters and rescues, and possibly veterinary professionals. I need to customize my presentations to their specific needs.

I have one month to finalize my presentations. That may sound like a lot of time but I still need add the finishing touches. The last thing I want to do is bore people, so now I’m working on adding fun activities, videos and other ways to entertain the audience. There’s nothing worse than a boring, endless Powerpoint presentation.

Because I am now so focused on my Groom Expo conference preparations, I may not be posting as frequently until after this is through.  So I am opening up the blog to your questions. Please feel free to post your questions in the comments of this post. Beginning in September, I will address the questions in a series of posts.

Thanks for continuing to visit my blog and I hope you will hang in there with me while I “slow down” this August.  Can’t wait to read your questions!

