I was dressed in jeans and a baggy teeshirt, headed to work with shelters animals for the day.  I stopped to fill the car with gas and as I was finishing, a woman ran up to me and asked if I had jumper cables.  She had to have been at least 10 years younger than me, fashionably blinged out and wobbling on skinny 4-inch heels.  Knowing that it was going to make me late, I offered her my cables and assistance anyway.  She replied, “thank you honey.”  Honey??!!  When a woman that I don’t know very well addresses me as honey, dear, sweetheart, etc., my hair stands on end.  Was she calling me honey because of my “Don’t Litter, Spay and Neuter Your Critter” teeshirt, or maybe she calls everyone honey?

I guess I was a little self-conscious because of the way I looked, comparing myself to Miss Dead Battery. Especially because I used to dress fashionably, albeit a little less blingy than she, before I switched careers.  Let’s face it, you’ll never find a dog trainer on the cover of Vogue.  Stilettos aren’t advisable when teaching a 100-pound dog not to jump on you or while practicing how to walk nicely on a leash and not drag you down the street.

Consequently, most people see me solely as a jeans and sneakers lady.  That’s a far cry from my true style. Someone told me that they envisioned me as a pickup truck kinda gal which made me pause to conclude that this incorrect assertion was based on my mode of dress.  In reality, my preference is classic and elegant – for clothes and cars.  But neither are practical for this stage of my life. I don’t drive a pickup but my Honda CR-V is a necessity right now.

Do you think it’s human nature to judge a book by its cover?  And are our judgments accurate?  I’ve seen people in the grocery store wearing very expensive-looking outfits yet paying with food stamps.  On the other hand, I also know of millionaires who dress like they live on the streets. If so much disparity exists, then why do we still try to make such assessments?

I think that life is becoming more and more casual, and mode of dress is not necesarily a reflection of status.  That way of thinking should be as dead as that woman’s battery.  Right, honey?

