When I took the leap from steady employment in the corporate world into having my own business, I was too exhilarated about my new adventure to be fearful.  But as the reality of the challenges I faced set in, so did the fear.  And then for the ensuing years, my moods would pendulum from energized optimism to chocolate-binging, couch potato-ism.  Coincidentally, these mood shifts can be symptoms of menopause.  Was I experiencing the normal anxieties associated with beginning a new venture, was it menopause, or both?  I couldn’t have asked for better timing, huh?

Regardless of the root cause, I needed to deal with my feelings of fear because I found myself thinking of giving up and running back to the cubicled hallways of dreams ne’er fulfilled.  I found that inspirational quotes were somewhat helpful like this one from Eleanor Roosevelt:

“We gain strength, and courage, and confidence by each experience in which we really stop to look fear in the face… we must do that which we think we cannot.”

And I read books such as The Power of Intention by Wayne Dyer and Ask and It Is Given by Ester and Jerry Hicks.  The bodies of work from these people are most impressive and have helped millions of people.  I also recently discovered a new on-line magazine called fear.less.  It looks very promising and deserving of a read. 

Most importantly, I kept my focus on why I started my business – my love for animals and the desire to help them by educating people. Without a solid grounding in those passions, I would have succumbed to the fear long ago. It’s not enough to just want my own business; success can only come through commitment to a dream that won’t go away.

And what do I do about the menopausal moods swings?  I try to adhere to the healthy lifestyle that I wrote about in my blog post, Dawn at 3:00am?  But I have to admit that I occasionally indulge my chocolate cravings along with a few hours of watching my favorite movies, mostly those by Nancy Meyers and Nora Ephron. Nuturing for my dreams and my soul.

