Do you believe that one person can make a big difference in our world – for good or bad?  Just last week when a Tennessee woman returned her adopted son to Russia on a plane by himself, the relationship between the U.S. and Russia was jeopardized.  Russia threatened to halt all adoptions to the U.S. with potential impacts to thousands of children and their hopeful new families.  For a day or two, U.S./Russian relations teetered.  One act by one person…

Isn’t that an amazingly powerful concept? If you can believe that one person can have such a negative impact, is it too much to think that one person can make a huge positive change?  I think it’s very possible.  When I was in 5th grade, I won my very first award for writing.  I composed an essay about George Washington Carver.  This man single-handedly invented over 300 uses for the peanut.  Peanut butter was one of them.  I can’t imagine a world without Reeses cups!  This unsung, humble man contributed enormously to our lives and serves as an inspiration for all of us. He was born to a single mother, a slave, and overcame tremendous challenges through hard work and perserverence.  He went on to be the first black faculty member at Iowa State College.   He said, “No individual has any right to come into the world and go out of it without leaving something behind.” 

My dream is that through my perseverence with getting my book about puppy mills published, that I can make a huge difference for the animals, and to help give useful advice to pet owners.  In a small way, I wish to leave something behind that may be of benefit to others.  I encourage you to familiarize yourself with George Washington Carver and his contributions.  I find his quotes to be inspirational.

